Roses and a Rabbit

Roses have been around for about 35 million years. I was pretty surprised myself at how long they have been around when I did the research. The oldest fossil was discovered in Colorado. The oldest rose bush is in Germany and is thought to be 1000 years old. It’s located on a wall of the Hildesheim Cathedral in Germany.

Using prismacolor pencils I completed this rose in a blue background.

Rose2 Sketch

White and yellow roses are from China. Pink and white roses come from Asia, Europe and North Africa. Pink to crimson and striped flowered roses are from Western Asia and Europe.

On to perfumes. Rose perfumes are made from rose oil. Basically the makers of perfume steam distill the crushed petals. Rose water has a few uses. It’s used for cooking, cosmetics, medicine and religious practices.

This painting of a Rose is 18 x 24 oil on canvas that I just finished up this weekend.

Rose Painting

Roses were a symbol of power in medieval times. The Rose also became the symbol of civil wars that took place in the 15th century in England and the War of the Roses lasted from 1455 to 1487.

Rose in a circle

Now about Rabbit’s. When my kids were little they wanted a Rabbit and continued to nag until I was finally convinced that it wouldn’t be that hard to care for a rabbit. After all the pellets that they eat weren’t that expensive in the pet shop and all we needed was food, a water bottle and a cage.

 

Most of the Rabbits that the shop had were baby bunnies so I went ahead and purchased one. He was the softest nicest bunny they had and I loved him. So did my kids however; he didn’t love me. After 3 days I started itching like crazy and a few days later I started breaking out in large welts all over my chest, arms and face. I knew for sure without seeing a Dr. that I was allergic to this rabbit without a doubt.

Here’s a sketch of the Rabbit that looked very close to the bunny my kids and I had.

Rabbit

I hated to return the rabbit to the pet shop but I had no choice the welts on my upper body arms and face really became unbearable. My kids were pretty ticked that I had to return the rabbit to the pet shop but we found an alternative. We got hamsters in place of the rabbit and all was well after that. The welts went away and everyone was happy.

Leave a Reply

