Butterflies and Flowers

I’ve been on a Butterfly and flower kick for the last few days so I’m here to post the facts I found and share my sketches with you.

Surprisingly there are 165,000 different species of butterflies except in the Arctic regions.

I found out that their eyes are made of 6,000 lenses and they can see ultraviolet light. They never close their eyes because they don’t have eyelids. (is this crazy or what?) Butterflies sleep at night or when it’s cloudy and cool. Here’s a pic of one sitting on a flower.

Butterfly on flower

In my research I found out that Butterfly wings are actually clear. The colors and patterns we see are made by the reflection of the tiny scales covering them.

Butterflies don’t eat they drink and they taste with their feet. They have tiny little organs on the bottom of their feet that sense the chemical signature of anything they land on. Here’s a picture of a Butterfly drinking.

Butterfly drinking

These amazing creatures not only drink the nectar from flowers but they also drink the juices form the fruits that grow on trees.

Male Butterfly

 

Here’s the first Butterfly I sketched with Prismacolor pencils. This sketch is 1/2 the size of the 18 x 24 sketch pad. I drew the Butterfly with a fine point sharpie.

Butterfly

This sketch is on 18 x 24 paper and I used the same sharpie to draw the Butterfly but made the flowers purple this time.

Butterfly on purple flowers

Here’s a close up of that same sketch.

Butterfly closeup

It seems like there are as many flowers as there are Butterflies which is overwhelming for not just me an artist but for anyone doing research.. There are so many to choose from that it seems like the variety is never ending.

If I sketch more Butterflies over the next few days I’ll certainly post them for you.

Now I’m off to study flowers.

Here’s an abstract Butterfly hovering over a flower. This is a small sketch.

Butterfly over one flower

This sketch I tried my hand at a different kind of purple flower.

Black Butterfly Aquamarine

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

