Abstract Horse

Riding horses every Saturday morning was a normal thing for me way back. As I sat back the other day and recalled the good memories of all those years riding, inspiration struck me. The idea to sit down and draw one wasn’t a thought I wanted to just push to the side.

Pulling out the pallet, acrylics, and a couple of brushes I went right to work.

Liquitex Basic’s is a good brand of paint. So far it has panned out well.

Starting with a dark gray background was my idea to hide a previous painting that over time, I just didn’t fancy any longer. On another note, I just couldn’t justify opening a brand new canvas for a horse that I’ve never painted before. After-all, practice really does help.

Using a size 8 filbert I painted the entire canvas ( 18×24 ) gray. Once the background dried I picked up a number 6 filbert to start painting the horse. The fine liner came in handy for the loose hairs in the horse’s mane and the fine details throughout the composition.

Before I knew it 2 hours had gone by! While sitting at the easel it had only seemed like maybe 30 minutes had passed. I can officially attest now that time really does fly when your having fun!

This was a fun project for taking a break from all the serious stuff.

Thanks for stopping by and have a nice Thanksgiving!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Love it! 😍 Happy Thanksgiving! πŸ¦ƒ

    Like

  2. Thanks Tifffany! Right back at ya.

    Like

  3. equinoxio21 says:

    Wonderful. Horses are soooo difficult to draw. Well done.
    (I too remember times when horse riding was an every week affair…) 🐴

    Like

  4. Thanks! Glad to hear you use to ride too. I really miss it.

    Like

Leave a comment